Jason Ferguson's Geeky Gamer Blog

My adventures in virtual worlds, gaming, and the videogame industry.

My Latest Gaming Purchases

leave a comment »

Brutal Legend

I recently completed BioShock Infinite (stellar game – I’ll probably post some thoughts on it later) so I decided to head to my local GameStop and see what cheap games I could find. I tend to seek out the cheap games in order to satisfy my gaming fix. And by cheap I don’t mean the $39.99 games or even the $19.99 games. I’m talking about the bargain bin $5 games. 

Naturally, these games tend to be on the older side… but that’s fine with me. I’m sooo far behind on my gaming anyway that there are tons of games from the last few years that I missed out on, so despite being old, these games are new to me. And of course, the cheapest games are often not necessarily the best or most popular, but I don’t mind that either. For $5 you can’t really be picky and all that really matters is that they’re entertaining, right? Right.

Anyway, I decided to pick up these few XBox 360 games…

Kingdom Under Fire: Circle of Doom – I really, really loved Kingdom Under Fire: The Crusaders and Heroes. Both were great games that proved strategy games can indeed work on console. Further, they offered fast-paced action, RPG-like customization and an interesting fantasy world. Needless to say, I was really excited when Circle of Doom was first announced. Unfortunately, it got a lot of awful press and I put off playing it for years. Now that I’ve finally found it for super cheap, I decided it’s time to finally pick it up.

Brutal Legend – After playing BioShock Infinite, a more casual, funny game seems in order. I’ve been curious to try Brutal Legend for quite some time. I decided to dive into this game first and so far I’m not blown away but have enjoyed the humor. It’s also nice to see such a non-traditional RPG. The soundtrack isn’t too shabby either!

Overlord – I played a demo of this a few years back. Seemed interesting, so figured it’s worth a shot for just a few bucks. Can’t be TOO bad seeing as they made a sequel, right?

Golden Axe: Beast Rider – I have very, very low expectations for this. Fortunately, it was cheap and I really do like playing the occasional mindless RPG/hack n’ slash.

Written by jasondferguson

April 21, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Leave a comment