Jason Ferguson's Geeky Gamer Blog

My adventures in virtual worlds, gaming, and the videogame industry.

My Broken Xbox 360

leave a comment »

I miss gaming.

Last summer, my beloved Xbox 360 started giving me the infamous “Red Ring of Death.” I worked a few tricks to get it functioning again, but it was a temporary fix and at this point I think my 360 is basically a brick. It’s particularly sad because I still had my Xbox 360 from the original launch. 

Anyway, probably due to a combination of cheapness and laziness, I haven’t gotten around to fixing or replacing my 360 yet so I can get back to gaming. I was in the middle of playing Duel of the Planeswalkers 2014 and a few older titles I had picked up at GameStop when my machine died and I’d love to wrap them all up before I move onto the next-gen of systems. I feel a bit silly buying a new 360 when the system is at the end of its life, though. Which of course, brings me to the random annoyance of the Xbox One NOT being backwards compatible. If it WERE backwards compatible, I’d get one right off the bat and would be able to continue playing the pile of 360 games I’ve amassed while also starting to dabble in the next gen. Oh well, end rant…

Anyway, I’m finally at the point that I feel I need to do something… I have too many games to play and my Xbox Live subscription is being wasted. And of course, I’m going to want to go next gen before too long and don’t want to see my current game lineup get tossed aside and forgotten. Should I try and get my 360 fixed? Should I buy a new one? Should I buy a refurbished/used one? I’m checking out some cheap deals on Craigslist. I figure, if I can get it cheap enough it may be worth the risk… all I need is the core system anyway (I have the cords, hard-drive and controllers).

 

Written by jasondferguson

November 7, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Leave a comment